top of page

Who's Who

The NSAICM is run by an Executive Committee. This includes:

Head of School:

Dr Stephen Robb

Training Programme Directors:

TPD - Stage 1 Anaesthesia 

Dr Karen Naru

TPD - Stage 2 Anaesthesia

Dr Lynne Waring

TPD - Stage 3 Anaesthesia + Quality Co-Lead

Dr Chloe Fairbairns

TPD - Intensive Care Medicine + ACCS Stage 1

Dr Suzy O'Neill

TPD - ARCP + ePortfolio Lead

Dr Chris Izod

TPD - Trainees with Differing Needs

Dr Alexander Scott

Regional Advisors:

Anaesthesia: Dr Ian Whitehead

ICM: Dr Miriam Baruch

Pain: Dr Ashish Gulve

School Executive Committee

Programme Support Officer – Specialty Training

NHSE Education – North East

Ella Costello

Lead Employer Trust (LET) - Human Resources

Senior HR Officer: Leanne Lowe

HR Officers: Adam Booth and Olivia Henderson

NHSE Education


RCOA Tutors

Dr Karen Naru & Dr Claire Woods

FICM Tutors

Dr. Chris Johnson & Dr. Kaye Cantlay,


Dr Jon Glazebrook


RCOA Tutors

Dr Henning Pauli (Cardiac)

Dr Iain Walker, (General)

Dr Nicola Hirschauer, Deputy Tutor (General) 

FICM Tutor

Dr Caroline MacFie

Dr Mahesh Prabhu (Cardiac)


RCOA Tutor

Dr Seema Pathare,

FICM Tutor

Dr Paramaswamy Krishnan,

James Cook

Queen Elizabeth Hospital

RCOA College Tutors and FICM Faculty Tutors - contact details

NSAICM Trainee Committee

bottom of page