top of page


Training in Anaesthetics and Intensive care medicine is currently going through a major overhaul. This has been driven by the GMC to improve flexibility in training and improve the training experience. There is a new curriculum to familiarise yourself with and to navigate through, and there are key windows to migrate from the previous 2010 curriculum. In addition to this there are new learning events to get your head around.

The North is a fabulous area to train with excellent hospitals, trainers and co-ordinated courses and events to help navigate you through. 

Health Education England North East (HEE NE) administer the training programme - for further information, including policies and employment information (LET) click here

Man Hands On Keyboard

Stage 1

Core Stage 1 (CT1-3) and ACCS Stage 1 (CT2-4)

Core training covers Stage 1 of the 2021 curriculum. This covers 14 domains of learning requiring appropriate learning events to evidence this. This is all managed through the Lifelong learning platform. As a new trainee in Anaesthetics it is imperative to register with the college to gain access to the lifelong learning platform. There are regular updates to the Royal College website and it is important to keep checking. Familiarise yourself with the HALO guide and how to evidence the outcomes.


Stage 2

ST4 and ST5

Stage 2 in Anaesthetics encompasses ST4 and ST5. There are 14 domains of learning with different evidence requirements to Stage 1. The ultimate goal is completion of FRCA Final. Developing more of a supervising role of more junior trainees comes into play and developing training programmes and organising teaching. Neuro-Anaesthesia and Cardiothoracic anaesthesia are introduced, and more specific outcomes for regional anaesthesia such as Brachial Plexus blocks, chest and abdominal wall fascial plane blocks, opthalmic blocks and managing awake patients under regional anaesthesia. 

Follow the HALO guide for specific evidence and requirements for this stage of training.

Stage 3

ST6 and ST7

With more of a focus on fully independent practice stage 3 focuses on independent sign off of complex procedures and techniques, and greater involvement in training, teaching, audit and quality improvement.


August 2021 saw the introduction of a new curriculum in ICM. The full ACCs programme can count towards completion of Stage 1. The curiculum is divided into stages, each stage has 14 HiLLOs - 10 speciality and 4 generic. Completion of FFICM is required to complete stage 2 as a critical progression point. more information is available on the FFICM website

Hospital Corridor

Hospital Allocations


Your hospital allocations are dictated by a few factors. The stage of your training, the preferences you have made to the School and your interview score.  Various factors are taken into account by the  training program directors (TPDs) during the allocation process and the details of this will be explained at induction. You usually stay in one hospital for you CT1 year. Subsequent training years usually see you move hospital every 6 months.

  • Cumberland Infirmary, Carlisle

  • Darlington Memorial Hospital, Darlington

  • Freeman Hospital, Newcastle 

  • James Cook University Hospital, Middlesbrough 

  • Northumbria Healthcare Trust (Alnwick Infirmary, Hexham General Hospital, North Tyneside General Hospital and Northumbria Specialist Emergency Care Hospital) 

  • Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Gateshead 

  • Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle 

  • Sunderland Royal Hospital, Sunderland

  • University Hospital of North Durham, Durham

  • University Hospital North Tees, Stockton 


Thinking of Applying?

If you are thinking of applying for Core anaesthetics, The royal college have released a short video about how to prepare for a Core or ACCS interview which can be viewed here. ( )

Please see the ANRO website for the current recruitment timelines and dates. 

bottom of page