< 2018 >
  • All day

    Date: Monday 11 June 2018

    Venue:   Institute of Transplantation, Freeman Hospital

    Under exam conditions, trainees will complete at least a full Clinical & Science VIVA by using recent exam questions supplied by post FRCA trainees.

    Clinical long case

    Clinical short cases

    Science vivas – anatomy, pharmacology, physics and physiology.

    There is an expectation is that after success at the Final FRCA, trainees return as Examiners at least twice by way of payback.

    Course Directors:

    Dr Linda Waddilove, Consultant Anaesthetist, Freeman Hospital

    Dr Stephen Robb, Consultant Anaesthetist, Sunderland Royal Hospital

    For further information, please email:  Barbara Sladdin

  • All day

    MEPA is a national course for Specialty Trainees in Anaesthesia, teaching management strategies for paediatric anaesthetic emergencies. MEPA is recognised by the Royal College of Anaesthetists and the Association of Paediatric Anaesthetists.

    A one-day, small group simulation course, offering both practical and theoretical training using simulation. Provision is made for detailed scenario feedback and discussion in a supportive and constructive manner.

    This regional course is held throughout the year, at the Newcastle Hospitals Trust Simulation Centre based at the Freeman Hospital.

    Course date – Monday 25 June 2018

    Further Information:


Trainee Committee

The NSAICM representatives committee has been set up to provide a link between all trainees within the School and the Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine Specialty Training Committees.  Trainee representatives attend the Specialty Training Committee meetings and are able to put across the trainee point of view and raise any concerns.

Trainee representatives are selected according to the HENE policy. We have representation across all trainee groups – junior and senior trainees, intensive care medicine trainees and less than full time trainees.

The committee is also responsible for organising the twice yearly trainee forum. This provides a meeting for face to face dissemination of valuable information from the members of the Specialty Training Committee to the trainees.

Other key projects that the committee are involved in are links to national bodies and a variety of education and training events.

Committee Members 2018


Committee ChairGAT Trainee Network Lead (TNL)  Lucy Powell

Higher Trainee – Anaesthetics

Committee Vice Chair

Less-than-full-time Rep

GAT Committee Rep

Roopa McCrossan

Higher Trainee- Anaesthetics

Committee Secretary Anaesthetics

Rep for HENE Trainee

Executive Forum 

Priya Shekar

Intermediate Trainee – Anaesthetics

Lead for new trainees to the region Lisa Macbeth

Higher Trainee – Anaesthetics

Social Secretary for Intermediate Anaesthetics/ICM LTFT Claire Mitchell

Intermediate Trainee – Anaesthetics/ICM

ACCS/Core Anaesthetics LTFT  Zoe Robertson

Core Trainee – Anaesthetics

Less-than-full-time Rep

Acting Vice Chair 

Louise Sanderson

Higher Trainee – Anaesthetics

Intensive Care Rep

ICM Specialty Training Committee

ICM Trainee Forums 

Louise Swan

Higher Trainee – Anaesthetics & ICM

Intensive Care Rep

ICM Specialty Training Committee

ICM Trainee Forums

Hayley Mainman

Higher Trainee – Medicine & Intensive Care

Buddy Scheme  Elaine Winkley

Higher Trainee – Anaesthetics

Post Fellowship Teaching

Anaesthesia Trainee Forums

Iain Walker

Higher Trainee – Anaesthetics

ACCS Rep  Nick Francis

Core trainee – Anaesthetics

Medical Students Society

NAP coordinator 

Chris Browell

Higher Trainee – Anaesthetics

Intermediate Anaesthetics / Research James Durrand

Research Fellow



Past Chair:

Dr Cathy Lawson – 2016

Dr Jo Clement/Dr Tom Sams – 2014

Dr Sarah Gibb – 2012